Contact
Created with Sketch.
Founder Christian Dürr
Contact

Isar Estate

Founder: Dipl.-Kfm. Christian Dürr

Do you have a request? We are happy to be there for you and look forward to hearing from you.

+49 (0) 89 901 697 46

info@isarestate.de

    * Mandatory field

    Rent brake in Munich: What landlords should know

    Code Court

    It is important for flat owners to know whether or not they have to observe the Mietpreisbremse when renting out their flat. For renting flats in the city of Munich, the Mietpreisbremse is generally mandatory, unless one of the legal exemptions applies.

    Since 01 April 2020, the Act on the Extension and Improvement of the Regulations on the Permissible Rental Amount at the Start of the Tenancy has also been in force. The corresponding legal regulations can be found in the German Civil Code (BGB).

    Extension in this context means the authority of the Land governments, extended until 31.12.2025, to determine the rent brake in areas with a tight housing market by statutory order. In Bavaria, the Mietpreisbremse is currently valid in 162 cities and municipalities (including the city of Munich) until the cut-off date of 31.07.2020. However, it is assumed that the Bavarian state government will extend the validity of the Mietpreisbremse.

    By improvement, the legislator means the tightening of the legal regulations at the expense of landlords for tenancy agreements concluded from 01.04.2020. More on this in a moment.

    When will the Mietpreisbremse be enacted?

    According to the legislator, the rent brake can be imposed by the Land governments if the increase in rents or the average rent burden on households is significantly higher than the national average, if the growth in the residential population is significantly higher than new, necessary housing is created, or if there is a high demand for housing with low vacancy rates.

    What does the Mietpreisbremse regulate and how does it work in Munich?

    The legal consequence is that the rent at the beginning of the tenancy may exceed the local comparable rent by a maximum of 10 per cent. In the city of Munich, the local comparative rent is determined by the qualified rent index.

    Example of the maximum permissible rent

    The basis for all the following examples is this initial data:

    Flat in city of Munich; rent brake; year of construction 2005; living space: 100 m²; customary monthly rent: 15 € / m² = 1500 €; new letting on 01.05.2020

    Maximum permissible rent: Local rent + 10 % = € 1500 + € 150 = € 1650

    Where can I find the local comparative rent for my city or municipality?

    For some cities and a few larger municipalities, there is a so-called rent index. This is intended to make the determination of the local comparative rent transparent. Since there is no obligation to draw up a rent index, it does not exist for every municipality or city. A distinction is made between the simple and the qualified rent index. The qualified rent index must be drawn up every two years and is based on scientific guidelines. There is a qualified rent index for the city of Munich.

    Consequence for landlords in case of violation of the Mietpreisbremse (rent brake)

    The consequences for the landlord in the event of a breach of the Mietpreisbremse have become significantly more severe since 01.04.2020. What is new is that the tenant can now also claim the total amount of the rent that exceeds the permissible rent from the landlord retroactively. To do so, the tenant must give notice of the landlord's violation of the Mietpreisbremse within the first 2.5 years after the beginning of the tenancy and the tenancy must not have ended when the notice is received.

    For all tenancy agreements concluded before 01.04.2020 for which the Mietpreisbremse applies, the rule continues to apply that the landlord only has to adjust the rent to the permissible rent from the time of receipt of the complaint. A repayment of the rent portion that was set too high in the past is not prescribed here.

    Example of violation of the Mietpreisbremse (rent brake)

    Instead of the maximum permissible monthly rent of 1650 € (see example above), the flat is rented on 01.05.2020 for 2000 €. On 15.09.2022, the landlord is notified of the tenant's violation of the Mietpreisbremse.

    → The landlord must refund the tenant the following amount: (2000 € – 1650 €) x 28 = 9.800 €
    From 01.10.2022, the rent must then be adjusted to the maximum permissible rent of € 1650.

    Exceptions for the Mietpreisbremse

    There are four exceptions which mean that the Mietpreisbremse does not apply. In this case, the landlord is allowed to charge a higher rent than the local rent plus 10 % when renting a new property.

    1. higher rent level in the previous tenancy

    If the previous tenant paid a higher rent on the basis of an older contract than permitted by the Mietpreisbremse, the landlord may also set the same, higher rent for the new tenancy agreement to be concluded if he complies with the obligation to provide information described above. In principle, however, rent increases agreed within the last year before termination of the tenancy are not taken into account, with the exception of rent increases under graduated and index-linked tenancy agreements.

    Example of higher previous rent

    Rent previous tenant: 1750 € / month, termination on 01.03.2020, new tenant on 01.05.2020


    Instead of 1650 €, the landlord may demand 1750 € rent per month.

    2. modernisation measures in the last three years

    The rent may exceed the local rent by more than 10 % when re-letting if modernisation measures have been carried out in the last three years. This is the case if the landlord has not yet claimed the possible rent increase during the last tenancy or if the modernisation was carried out during the vacancy before the new tenancy.

    The rent is then increased by the amount that may also be added in the context of an existing tenancy due to a modernisation measure. The maximum permissible modernisation surcharge per year is eight percent of the modernisation costs.

    Example of modernisation

    Modernisation costs in the last 3 years: € 18,000


    → Annual modernisation surcharge = 8 % x 18,000 € = 1440 €, this corresponds to 120 € per month

    → Allowable rent for a new tenancy: €1650 + €120 = €1770

    3. new buildings

    If a flat is used and let for the first time after 01.10.2014, the rent brake does not apply.

    Example of higher allowable rent due to new construction

    A flat is used and rented for the first time after completion on 01.05.2020. The landlord demands 1850 €.


    → This is permissible although the maximum amount is 1650 € due to the Mietpreisbremse.

    4. comprehensive modernisation measures

    Even if the flat has been modernised so comprehensively that the investment amounts to approximately one third of the expenditure required for a comparable new flat, no Mietpreisbremse applies to the first new letting after the modernisation. Although the Mietpreisbremse then applies from the second letting, the landlord can invoke the first exception, i.e. the higher rent level in the previous tenancy, in order to achieve the same rent for the second letting.

    Example of comprehensive modernisation

    Before the start of the tenancy on 01.05.2020, the landlord extensively modernised the flat.

    → The landlord has the right to rent out the flat, for example, at 1900 € instead of the otherwise permissible rent of 1650 € calculated on the basis of the Mietpreisbremse.

    Landlord's duty to provide information

    First of all, an important point: Since 01.01.2019, the landlord must provide the tenant with unsolicited information before the conclusion of the contract in all four exceptional cases regulated by law as to the legal reason why he may set the rent more than 10% above the local rent. This information must be provided in text form (e.g. fax or e-mail). For legal security, the information should be recorded in the tenancy agreement.

    If the landlord does not fulfil his duty to provide information, this has serious financial consequences for him. Even if the landlord can provide information about the reasons for the permissibility of the higher rent after the conclusion of the contract, the landlord may only increase the rent to the amount permitted by the respective exemption regulation two years after the late provision of information.

    Example of the landlord's failure to provide information

    Permitted rent due to a legal exemption: 2000 € / month, but the landlord does not inform the tenant about this until July 2020, although the tenancy agreement was already concluded on 01.05.2020.

    → The landlord may not increase the permissible rent from € 1650 per month to € 2000 until 01.08.2022. He can therefore not claim this amount in the meantime: (2000 € – 1650 €) x 24 = 8.400 €.

    Conclusion on the Mietpreisbremse

    Opinions differ as to whether the rent control makes sense or not. Everyone will find good arguments for their point of view. The fact is that the rent brake applies in 162 cities and municipalities in Bavaria and is currently required by law there. To avoid misunderstandings and trouble, it makes sense for the landlord of a flat to know the maximum permissible rent and not to exceed it.

    This article presents the main features of the Mietpreisbremse. Legal subtleties must be analysed precisely in each individual case. Feel free to contact us to let your property with the help of Isar Estate.

    Disclaimer

    Despite careful research and checking of the sources, the author assumes no liability for the accuracy and completeness of the information presented. In case of unclear legal and tax questions, it is advisable to consult a lawyer and/or tax advisor for clarification.

    Author: Dipl.-Kfm. Christian Dürr

    Photo credit: Shutterstock, 494058484, Africa Studio

    Do you have questions about renting out your property?

    Are you interested in the achievable rental price?

    We look forward to hearing from you

Kontakt
Created with Sketch.
Dipl.-Kfm. Christian Dürr - Immobilienmakler - Gründer von Isar Estate

Kontakt

Isar Estate

 

Gründer: Dipl.-Kfm. Christian Dürr

 

Haben Sie ein Anliegen? Wir sind gerne für Sie da und freuen uns auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.

 

+49 (0) 89 901 697 46

 

info@isarestate.de

* Pflichtfeld

Verschärfung der Mietpreisbremse

Das Bild zeigt ein schönes klassisches Gebäude und ein Gesetzbuch

Für Wohnungseigentümer ist es wichtig zu wissen, ob sie bei der Vermietung Ihrer Wohnung die Mietpreisbremse beachten müssen oder nicht. Für die Vermietung von Wohnungen in der Stadt München ist die Mietpreisbremse generell vorgeschrieben, es sei denn es greift eine der gesetzlichen Ausnahmeregelungen.

Seit 01. April 2020 gilt außerdem das Gesetz zur Verlängerung und Verbesserung der Regelungen über die zulässige Miethöhe bei Mietbeginn. Die entsprechenden gesetzlichen Regelungen sind im Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuch (BGB) zu finden.

 

Verlängerung bedeutet dabei die bis 31.12.2025 verlängerte Ermächtigung der Landesregierungen, die Mietpreisbremse in Gebieten mit einem angespannten Wohnungsmarkt durch Rechtsverordnung zu bestimmen. In Bayern gilt die Mietpreisbremse derzeit in 162 Städten und Gemeinden (inklusive der Stadt München) bis zum Stichtag des 31.07.2020. Es wird aber angenommen, dass die bayrische Landesregierung die Gültigkeit der Mietpreisbremse verlängern wird.

 

Unter Verbesserung versteht der Gesetzgeber die Verschärfung der gesetzlichen Regelungen zulasten der Vermieter bei Mietverträgen, die ab dem 01.04.2020 geschlossen werden. Dazu gleich noch mehr.

 

Begründung der Mietpreisbremse

Die Mietpreisbremse kann laut Gesetzgeber von den Landesregierungen verordnet werden, wenn der Anstieg der Mieten bzw. die durchschnittliche Mietbelastung der Haushalte deutlich höher ist als im bundesweiten Durchschnitt, wenn das Wachstum der Wohnbevölkerung deutlich höher ist als neuer, erforderlicher Wohnraum geschaffen wird, oder wenn große Nachfrage nach Wohnraum bei geringem Leerstand besteht.

 

Maximal zulässige Miete bei Mietpreisbremse

Die Rechtsfolge ist, dass die Miete zu Beginn des Mietverhältnisses die ortsübliche Vergleichsmiete maximal um 10 Prozent übersteigen darf. In der Stadt München wird die ortsübliche Vergleichsmiete durch den qualifizierten Mietspiegel bestimmt.

Beispiel für die maximal zulässige Miete

Grundlage für alle folgenden Beispiele sind diese Ausgangsdaten:

Wohnung in Stadt München; Mietpreisbremse; Baujahr 2005; Wohnfläche: 100 m²; Ortsübliche monatliche Miete: 15 € / m² = 1500 €; Neuvermietung am 01.05.2020

 

→ Maximal zulässige Miete: Ortsübliche Miete + 10 % = 1500 € + 150 € = 1650 €

 

Konsequenz für Vermieter bei Verstoß gegen die Mietpreisbremse

Die Konsequenz für den Vermieter bei Verstoß gegen die Mietpreisbremse hat sich seit 01.04.2020 deutlich verschärft. Neu ist, dass der Mieter den Gesamtbetrag des Mietpreises, der die zulässige Miete übersteigt, jetzt auch rückwirkend vom Vermieter einfordern kann. Dazu muss der Mieter den Verstoß des Vermieters gegen die Mietpreisbremse in den ersten 2,5 Jahren nach Beginn des Mietverhältnisses rügen und das Mietverhältnis darf bei Zugang der Rüge noch nicht beendet sein.

 

Bei allen vor dem 01.04.2020 geschlossenen Mietverträgen, für welche die Mietpreisbremse greift, gilt weiterhin die Regelung, dass der Vermieter die Miete erst ab dem Zeitpunkt des Zugangs der Rüge auf den zulässigen Mietzins anpassen muss. Eine Rückzahlung des in der Vergangenheit zu hoch angesetzten Mietanteils ist hier nicht vorgeschrieben.

 

Beispiel für den Verstoß gegen die Mietpreisbremse

Statt des maximal zulässigen monatlichen Mietzinses von 1650 € (s. obiges Beispiel) wird die Wohnung am 01.05.2020 für 2000 € vermietet. Am 15.09.2022 wird dem Vermieter die Rüge über den Verstoß gegen die Mietpreisbremse seitens des Mieters zugestellt.

 

→ Der Vermieter muss dem Mieter folgenden Betrag zurückerstatten: (2000 € – 1650 €) x 28 = 9.800 €
Ab dem 01.10.2022 muss die Miete dann auf die maximal zulässige Miete in Höhe von 1650 € angepasst werden.

 

Ausnahmen für die Mietpreisbremse

Es gibt vier Ausnahmeregelungen, aufgrund derer die Mietpreisbremse nicht greift. Dann darf der Vermieter bei Neuvermietung auch eine höhere als die ortsübliche Miete zuzüglich 10 % verlangen.

Auskunftspflicht des Vermieters

Vorab ein wichtiger Punkt: Seit dem 01.01.2019 muss der Vermieter dem Mieter in allen vier gesetzlich geregelten Ausnahmefällen bereits vor Vertragsschluss unaufgefordert darüber Auskunft geben, aus welchem Rechtsgrund er den Mietzins um mehr als 10 % über der ortsüblichen Miete ansetzen darf. Diese Auskunft muss in Textform (z.B. Fax oder E-Mail) erteilt werden. Zur rechtlichen Sicherheit sollte die Auskunft im Mietvertrag festgehalten werden.

 

Erfüllt der Vermieter seine Auskunftspflicht nicht, so hat dies für ihn gravierende finanzielle Konsequenzen. Denn auch wenn er die Auskunft über die Gründe für die Zulässigkeit des höheren Mietzinses nach Vertragsschluss nachholen kann, darf der Vermieter erst zwei Jahre nach der verspäteten Auskunftserteilung die Miete auf den Betrag erhöhen, den die jeweilige Ausnahmeregelung zulässt.

 

Beispiel für die vom Vermieter versäumte Auskunftspflicht

Zulässige Miete aufgrund einer gesetzlichen Ausnahmeregelung: 2000 € / Monat, aber der Vermieter informiert den Mieter erst im Juli 2020 darüber, obwohl der Mietvertrag bereits am 01.05.2020 geschlossen wurde.

 

→ Der Vermieter darf die zulässige Miete erst am 01.08.2022 von monatlich 1650 € auf 2000 € erhöhen. Er kann somit in der Zwischenzeit diesen Betrag nicht geltend machen: (2000 € – 1650 €) x 24 = 8.400 €.

 

Die vier Ausnahmen von der Mietpreisbremse

 

1. Höheres Mietniveau im vorherigen Mietverhältnis

Hat der Vormieter auf Basis eines älteren Vertrags eine höhere Miete bezahlt als es die Mietpreisbremse zulässt, so darf der Vermieter bei Einhaltung der oben geschilderten Auskunftspflicht auch für den neu zu schließenden Mietvertrag denselben, höheren Mietzins ansetzen. 
Grundsätzlich bleiben dabei jedoch innerhalb des letzten Jahres vor Beendigung des Mietverhältnisses vereinbarte Mieterhöhungen unberücksichtigt, mit der Ausnahme von Mietsteigerungen im Rahmen von Staffel- und Indexmietverträgen.

 

Beispiel für höhere Vormiete

Miete Vormieter: 1750 € / Monat, Kündigung am 01.03.2020, Neuvermietung am 01.05.2020


 

→ Statt 1650 € darf der Vermieter monatlich 1750 € Miete verlangen

 

2. Modernisierungsmaßnahmen in den letzten drei Jahren

Die Miete darf bei Neuvermietung die ortsübliche Miete um mehr als 10 % übersteigen, wenn in den letzten drei Jahren Modernisierungsmaßnahmen durchgeführt wurden. Und zwar dann, wenn der Vermieter während des letzten Mietverhältnisses die mögliche Mieterhöhung noch nicht geltend gemacht oder die Modernisierung während des Leerstandes vor der Neuvermietung durchgeführt wurde.

 

Die Miete erhöht sich sodann um den Betrag, der auch im Rahmen eines Bestandsmietverhältnisses aufgrund einer Modernisierungsmaßnahme aufgeschlagen werden darf. Der maximal zulässige Modernisierungszuschlag pro Jahr beträgt acht Prozent der Modernisierungskosten.

 

Beispiel für Modernisierung

Modernisierungskosten in den letzten 3 Jahren: 18.000 €


 

→ Jährlicher Modernisierungszuschlag = 8 % x 18.000 € = 1440 €, dies entspricht 120 € pro Monat

→ Zulässige Miete bei Neuvermietung: 1650 € + 120 € = 1770 €

 

3. Neubauten

Wird eine Wohnung nach dem 01.10.2014 erstmals genutzt und vermietet, so gilt die Mietpreisbremse nicht.

Beispiel für höhere zulässige Miete aufgrund eines Neubaus

Eine Wohnung wird am 01.05.2020 zum ersten Mal nach Fertigstellung genutzt und vermietet. Der Vermieter verlangt 1850 €.


 

→ Dies ist zulässig, obwohl der Höchstbetrag aufgrund der Mietpreisbremse bei 1650 € liegt.

 

4. Umfassende Modernisierungsmaßnahmen

Auch wenn die Wohnung so umfassend modernisiert wurde, dass die Investition circa ein Drittel des für eine vergleichbare Neubauwohnung notwendigen Aufwands beträgt, gilt für die erste Neuvermietung nach der Modernisierung keine Mietpreisbremse. Zwar gilt die Mietpreisbremse dann ab der zweiten Vermietung, jedoch kann sich der Vermieter bei Zweitvermietung auf die erste Ausnahme, also das höhere Mietniveau im vorherigen Mietverhältnis berufen, um die gleiche Miete zu erzielen.

Beispiel für eine umfassende Modernisierung

Vor Mietbeginn am 01.05.2020 hat der Vermieter die Wohnung umfassend modernisiert.

 

→ Der Vermieter hat das Recht, die Wohnung beispielsweise zu 1900 € statt der ansonsten aufgrund der Mietpreisbremse errechneten zulässigen Miete von 1650 € zu vermieten.

 

Fazit zur Mietpreisbremse

Die Geister scheiden sich, ob die Mietpreisbremse Sinn macht oder nicht. Jeder wird für seine Sichtweise gute Argumente finden. Tatsache ist, dass die Mietpreisbremse in 162 Städten und Gemeinden Bayerns greift und dort derzeit gesetzlich vorgeschrieben ist. Um Missverständnisse und Ärger zu vermeiden, macht es für den Vermieter einer Wohnung Sinn, den maximal zulässigen Mietzins zu kennen und nicht zu überschreiten.

 

Dieser Artikel stellt die wesentlichen Grundzüge der Mietpreisbremse vor. Gesetzliche Feinheiten müssen im jeweiligen Einzelfall genau analysiert werden. Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne, um  Ihre Immobilie mit der Hilfe von Isar Estate zu vermieten.

 

 

Haftungsausschluss

Trotz sorgfältiger Recherche und Überprüfung der Quellen übernimmt der Autor keine Haftung für die Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit der dargestellten Informationen. Bei unklaren Rechts- und Steuerfragen ist es angeraten, zu deren Klärung einen Anwalt und / oder Steuerberater zu beauftragen.

 

Autor: Dipl.-Kfm. Christian Dürr

Bildnachweis: Shutterstock, 494058484, Africa Studio

Haben Sie Fragen zur Vermietung Ihrer Immobilie?

Interessieren Sie sich für den erzielbaren Mietpreis?

Wir freuen uns über Ihre Kontaktaufnahme

* Pflichtfeld
Created with Sketch.